Kids' Lit Quiz logo
LATEST RESULT: West Midlands Heat (UK)
1st: Windsor Academy, Team 1
2nd: Finham Park School, Team 1
3rd: President Kennedy School, Team 1
NEXT FIXTURE: Thames Gateway Heat (UK)

Tuesday 21st November, 2pm

Harris Academy Chafford Hundred, Mayflower Road, Chafford Hundred, Essex RM16 6SA

View on fixtures timetable...

South Africa

General Info and Contact

The National Coordinator for South Africa is Marj Brown (email m.brown[at]

Typically there are several regional heats followed by a national final. Heats typically take place in February (see the Fixtures Timetable for full details).

Report on 2017 KLQ in South Africa

The National Co-ordinator has written a report (with photos) about the 2017 South Africa heats and final.

Latest Winners

The winners of the 2017 National Final are St John's College.

St John's College, winners of the 2017 South Africa National Final
St John's College, winners of the 2017 South Africa National Final

Forthcoming Fixtures

There are 8 forthcoming South Africa fixtures.

Coming up next: Johannesburg Heat, Monday 12th February 2018.

For details of other fixtures, please choose from the dropdown list below, or go to the Fixtures page to view a complete list of forthcoming fixtures.

  • Johannesburg Heat St John's College, Johannesburg, Monday 12th February 2018, 14:30 – 17:30
  • Cape Town Heat Grove School, Cape Town, Wednesday 14th February 2018, 14:30 – 17:30
  • Knysna Heat Oakhill School, Uitsig Street, Heuwelkruin, Knysna, Thursday 15th February 2018, 14:30 – 17:30
  • Port Elizabeth Heat St George's Preparatory School, 8 Park Drive, Port Elizabeth, 6001, Monday 19th February 2018, 14:30 – 17:30
  • Durban Heat Durban Girls' College, 586 Musgrave Road, Durban, 4001, Tuesday 20th February 2018, 13:30 – 16:30
  • Pietermaritzburg Heat Athlone School, Pietermaritzburg, 3201, Wednesday 21st February 2018, 13:00 – 16:00
  • Pretoria Heat Springvale Primary, Pretoria, Thursday 22nd February 2018, 14:30 – 17:30
  • National Final Roedean School, Princess of Wales Terrace, Johannesburg 2193, Saturday 24th February 2018, 13:00 – 15:00

Champions' Roster

  • 2017: St John's College
  • 2016: St John's College
  • 2015: Manor Gardens
  • 2014: St Johns
  • 2013: Roedean School
  • 2012: Roedean School, Johannesburg
  • 2011: Manor Gardens, Durban
  • 2010: The Ridge
  • 2009: Grove Primary
  • 2008: Springvale
  • 2007: Springfield Convent
  • 2006: Grove School
  • 2005: Springfield Convent
  • 2004: De La Salle College

Sponsors and Supporters

The Kids' Lit Quiz in South Africa is sponsored by Times Media.

South Africa scoops the 2013 Olympics of reading

A video feature on the South Africa team winning the 2013 World Final

Manor Gardens, winners of the 2015 South Africa National Final, at the World Final